The idea for Zonal Cultural Centers germinated in the mind of our late Prime Minister, Rajiv Gandhi. At his instance, several centers were set up. They represent the effort on the part of the Government and the people to preserve and protect our rich cultural heritage and to bring it closer to the lives of the people. With each State or Union Territory belonging to at least one Zonal Center, the objective is to foster amongst the people within each zone and among zones, much greater cultural exchanges and understanding. This not only results in a better understanding of our heritage but also brings out the underlying unity of our diverse cultural traditions.

A self-transforming civilization that defies any attempt to freeze it in space and time, living India is a mosaic of varied cultures, layer upon layer, tempered in a history of a common vitality.




150th Birth Anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore
All Zonal Cultural Centers In India
Zonal Centres Head Quarters Component States
North Central Zone Cultural Centre Allahabad Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Harayana, Bihar & Delhi
North Zone Cultural Centre Patiala Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kasmir, Rajasthan, Harayana, Punjab, UT Chandigarh
West Zone Cultural Centre Udaipur Goa, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, UT Daman, Due, Dadra, Nagar Haveli
Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre Kolkata West Bengal, Bihar, Orissa, Assam, Tripura, Manipur, Sikkim, Jharkhand, UT Andaman & Nicobar Islands
South Zone Cultural Centre Thanjavur Kerala, Taminnadu, Andhra Pradesh, Kamataka, UT Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshdeep, Pondicherry
South Central Zone Cultural Centre Nagpur Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Kamataka & Andhra Pradesh
North East Zone Cultural Centre Dimapur Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura